Skip to content

The evolution of our banner

April 10, 2009
by

I thought I’d just show you how our site’s logo evolved as I became more familiar with GIMP. So here you’ll be able to see some designs I tried before ending up where we are today.

Under Construction

So before moving to WordPress, we had a blog situated in Blogspot. I can’t say I was too happy with it. This yellow, construction-like design was what I first put on the blog. I didn’t think it was very visually appealing, but I just looked at it as something temporary. No one actually new about the new site back then, with the exception of lubic4sho. I believe he said something along the  lines of,  “It could use some work.”

Purple/Blue

The next thing I tried to do was ellaborate on the constuction. I picked two colors, purple and blue, to signify lubic4sho and me, respectively. I reason why this particular banner seems so tall is because we were using a different theme. Lubic4sho still wasn’t convinced with the banner at this point. Frankly, neither was I.

Navy Blue

I decided to scrap the diagonal lines and go for something more simple. The theme we were using at that point had a navy blue background, so I just tried to make the banner blend in (later, I realized I had picked the wrong color). So we ended up with the banner that the site sported for the longest time. Lubic4sho thought it was great, so I made a iPhone app-esque icon. If you look on our Twitter profile, you’ll notice we’re using this banner in our background (maybe I should change that). So we had this one going for a while, until I got tired of the color inconsistency, and lubic4sho thought we needed an upgrade.

FinalNow we have this little thing. I decided to go for emblem-like design. Of course, I had to keep the reflection and highlight so common in Web 2.0 logos. You’ll notice I brought back some of the color scheme from the second banner. I just thought it’d be nice to bring that idea back, even if it was more subtle.   

So that’s it. Hope you liked them. If you have any suggestions for the banner, email me a securi7y@projectinfinitum.com. I’d rather not have you send your own submissions, suggestions would be fine. As for any other questions, email info@projectinfinitum.com. Take care!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    April 12, 2009 9:14 pm

    What about the AdInfini7um banner?
    It was the best!

Leave a Reply

